GYR Recommendations

As a strategic consulting committee for the university management board, the Gutenberg Council for Young Researchers (GYR) formulates the recommendations for advanced improvements on research and working conditions for the academic and artistic junior staff at JGU. Additionally, the GYR also works on relevant documents for the university management board.

Tenure track procedure at Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz

In its recommendation from 2015, the GYR shows relevant aspects that need to be accounted for in a tenure track procedure.

Recommendations for a tenure track procedure (PDF, in German)

Recommendations on supervising doctoral work for junior research group leaders

To support and promote independence in the academic realm, the GYR recommends that the faculties give externally evaluated junior research group leaders the opportunity to independently supervise and review dissertations and master theses of their employees.

The senate endorsed this recommendation during the meeting on July 15th, 2016.

Recommendations on supervising doctoral work for junior research group leaders (PDF, in German)

Guidelines on drafting a supervision agreement for a doctoral project

The purpose of a supervision agreement is to come to a mutual agreement on the structure of the doctoral phase. This creates a transparent and reliable basis for supervision for both the doctoral candidate as well as the supervisor. Creating a dialog on expectations and ideas regarding both sides of the agreement helps to prevent disappointments and misunderstandings for both parties by identifying and clearing up discrepancies early on.

In order to support doctoral candidates and supervisors with drafting a supervision agreement, the GYR has developed guidelines that can be used as motivation and a framework for orientation.

During the meeting on April 28th, 2017, the JGU senate recommended that all departments, faculties and artistic institutions complete a written supervision agreement and orient themselves on the “Guidelines for a supervision agreement at JGU Mainz.”

Guidelines for a supervision agreement at JGU (PDF, in German)

Sample template (Word file, in German)

GNK-Empfehlungen

Als strategisches Beratungsgremium der Hochschulleitung formuliert das Gutenberg Nachwuchskolleg (GNK) Empfehlungen für zukunftsweisende Verbesserungen der Forschungs- und Arbeitsbedingungen des wissenschaftlichen und künstlerischen Nachwuchses an der JGU. Darüber hinaus arbeitet das GNK auch an relevanten Papieren der Hochschulleitung mit.

 Tenure Track-Verfahren an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz

In seiner Empfehlung aus dem Jahr 2015 zeigt das GNK relevante Aspekte auf, die im Rahmen eines Tenure Track-Verfahrens zu berücksichtigen sind.

Empfehlungen für Tenure Track-Verfahren (PDF)

Recht zur Promotionsbetreuung für Nachwuchsgruppenleiter/-innen

Um die frühe wissenschaftliche Selbständigkeit zu unterstützen und zu fördern, empfiehlt das GNK den Fachbereichen, extern evaluierten Nachwuchsgruppenleiterinnen und -leitern die Möglichkeit einzuräumen, die Promotions- und Masterarbeiten der von ihnen angeleiteten Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter eigenständig und eigenverantwortlich betreuen und prüfen zu dürfen.

Die Empfehlung wurde vom Senat in der Sitzung vom 15. Juli 2016 befürwortet.

Recht zur Promotionsbetreuung für Nachwuchsgruppenleiter/-innen (PDF)

Leitlinien für die Erstellung einer Betreuungsvereinbarung im Rahmen eines Promotionsvorhabens

Betreuungsvereinbarungen haben das Ziel, die individuelle Ausgestaltung der Promotionsphase im beiderseitigen Austausch und Einvernehmen zu vereinbaren und somit sowohl für Promovierende als auch für Betreuende eine transparente wie verlässliche Grundlage der Zusammenarbeit zu schaffen. Der Austausch über Erwartungen und Vorstellungen an die Verantwortlichkeiten der jeweils anderen Seite hilft jedoch auch Enttäuschungen vorzubeugen und Missverständnisse auf beiden Seiten zu vermeiden, indem Unstimmigkeiten früh erkannt und gemeinsam ausgeräumt werden.

Um Promovierende und Betreuende bei der gemeinsamen Formulierung einer Betreuungsvereinbarung zu unterstützen, hat das GNK Leitlinien erarbeitet, die als Anregung und Orientierungsrahmen genutzt werden können.

Der Senat der JGU hat in seiner Sitzung vom 28. April 2017 allen Fachbereichen, Fakultäten und künstlerischen Hochschulen empfohlen, im Falle eines Promotionsvorhabens eine schriftliche Betreuungsvereinbarung abzuschließen und sich hierbei an den vom GNK erarbeiteten „Leitlinien zur Betreuungsvereinbarung der JGU Mainz“ zu orientieren.

Leitlinien zur Betreuungsvereinbarung der JGU (PDF)

Mustervorlage (WORD-Vorlage zur Bearbeitung)